“Le bestiaire des sorcières” (The bestiary of the witches) is published !

DEDICATION at  FNAC Belfort

saturday November.28 from 2.30 pm

IMG_7931-w

Published on October 15. 2015

For this “bestiary of the witches” a beautiful book with its gild edge pages and illustrations from the past published by Rustica I searched in the annals of history the legends and real facts of witchery connected with animals.

From the Antiquity to the Middle-Ages animals played an important role being alternately good or bad.  Sacrified to the gods of greec latin and egyptian  mythology by magicians who predicted augurs  they were also used in  pharmacopoeia as a complement to herbal  medicinal products.

Doctors as well as witches and magicians living during the Middle Ages widely taped into the knowledge of the first scientists and naturalists. The animal from which organic extracts are mixed with medical prescriptions is used as a transfer to absorb illnesses but is also used into magical ceremonies organized by witches who take advantage ot the naive spirit of poor people and enhance superstitions.

Twenty five animals who are magic  beneficial or diabolical can be found in that book. There are  for example the cat, the bat, the weasel, the stag, the hoopoe, the owl, the magpie, the hen… as well as all the devils hidden into half man and half beast bodies and who reign supreme  over the world !

Photos by Nook who made my work look so great ! Thanks !

http://noook.over-blog.com/

starring Kotetsu the cat

 

1 response to ““Le bestiaire des sorcières” (The bestiary of the witches) is published !”

  1. Herman

    This could be a best seller!!!! Congratulations.
    Herman

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

DÉDICACE FNAC Belfort

samedi 28 Novembre à partir de 14 h 30

IMG_7931-w

Paru le 15 octobre 2015

Pour ce « Bestiaire des sorcières », un beau livre à la tranche dorée et à l’iconographie à l’ancienne, édité par Rustica, j’ai puisé dans les annales anciennes les légendes et faits réels de sorcellerie en rapport avec le monde animal.

De l’Antiquité au Moyen-Âge, les animaux ont revêtu une importance particulière, jouant tour à tour un rôle bénéfique ou maléfique. Sacrifiés aux dieux de la mythologie grecque, latine et égyptienne par des mages qui en tiraient des augures, ils furent aussi utilisés en pharmacopée, en complément des plantes médicinales.

Les médecins, mais aussi les sorciers et magiciens du Moyen-Âge ont largement puisé dans les connaissances des premiers savants et naturalistes. L’animal, dont les extraits organiques entrent dans les prescriptions, sert de transfert pour absorber les maladies, mais participe aussi à des cérémonies magiques préparées par des sorciers qui tirent parti de la naïveté de pauvres hères et alimentent les superstitions.

Vingt-cinq animaux, magiques, bienfaisants ou diaboliques sont ainsi répertoriés, des mammifères comme le chat, la chauve-souris, la belette, le cerf, des oiseaux comme la huppe, la chouette, la pie, la poule… ainsi que tous les démons cachés dans des corps mi-hommes, mi-bêtes et qui règnent en maîtres sur le monde !

Photos de NOOOK qui a si bien mis mon travail en valeur. Merci !

http://noook.over-blog.com/

Chat star : Kotetsu